Call (813) 222-2220 Expert D.U.I. Attorney

DHSMV 3 Most Important Forms

Keeping track of all the latest forms at the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can be a tough task. While the department has numerous forms, we have found the three most important forms that drivers need to use to get back on the road legally.


Florida DHSMV 3 Most Important Forms

Application for a Florida Hardship License - HSMV 78306

The first form is form number 78306. That form is the basic application for a hardship driver's license. It is important to note that knowingly making a false statement or concealing facts may result in denial of the hardship license. Once the form is completed, the driver or potential driver needs to go to a local Bureau of administrative reviews office to apply for a hearing. There is a $12 fee that is collected at the scheduling of the hardship hearing and a $25 fee is collected prior to scheduling an administrative review hearing. Florida law requires that anyone who requests such a hearing for early reinstatement of a driver's license must either enroll in or complete the appropriate driver education or substance abuse course. It is usually a good idea to stop by the closest office and make sure you have completed all of these requirements. Another important thing to remember is that the completion of the driver improvement for DUI school certificate must be presented at the time of the hearing. Sometimes it is only required to provide proof that the classes have been enrolled in. However, if the school is not completed upon proof of enrollment within 90 days the hardship license will be suspended. Finally, it is possible to have a telephone hearing and that option can be decided by the hearing officer. Call the nearest Bureau of administrative reviews office to see if you are eligible for a telephone hearing. Sometimes it is very tough to reach them by phone.


Application for a Florida DHSMV Hardship Driver's License Form

Application for formal / informal review of a driver's license suspension or disqualification HSMV 78065

The next form, number 78065 is the form that must be completed when a driver's license has been suspended for either blowing over a .08 or upon refusal to submit to a chemical test. The form must be submitted along with a legible copy of the DUI citation which also serves as a notice of suspension. If you wish to request a formal or informal review the form must be submitted along with a $25 filing fee it is best to do this in person and many citations contain the address where you must appear to request that hearing. Requesting a formal or informal review of a driver's license suspension will result in issuance of a 42 day permit. If the hearing is lost or the driver or his attorney misses the hearing, the driver will not be able to drive legally on the 43rd day. Election to proceed with the hearing is an important decision and to win, a lawyer is a helpful ally. You cannot change your mind after electing this option.


Florida DHSMV Formal Review Driver's License Suspension or Disqualification Forms

Request for Eligibility Review - HSMV 72034

This a form that first-time DUI defendants can use to get back on the road and for the most part, stay there no matter what happens in the criminal case. When a driver uses this form there is a waiver of a hearing, a permanent record of the alcohol or drug-related incident will be made on the driver's record, but the driver can drive under a hardship license for business purposes. You cannot change your mind after electing this option. Unlike the hearing to challenge the DUI suspension, this hearing determines only if the driver is eligible for a hardship license. There is a strict 10 day limit to get all of the items completed to successfully obtain this permit. Again, a competent DUI lawyer can help the driver prepare for this hearing. Success at this hearing will allow a driver to continue to drive for business purposes no matter what happens in the criminal case.

Completion of the request for eligibility review of a driving privilege begins the process where a driver's license hearing officer will determine if the driver is eligible for immediate reinstatement of their driving privilege on a restricted bassist under Florida statute 322.2615. If the driver obtain a restricted license there will be a restriction placed for business purposes only eyes to find in Florida statute section 322.271. There is a $25 filing fee to proceed with an eligibility review.

The driver must request this eligibility review within 10 days of a DUI arrest. To obtain this eligibility and the permit the driver must provide proof of enrollment in the DUI school. The driver must also have a legible copy of the DUI citation. The penalty for driving with an unlawful breath alcohol or blood alcohol level is 6 months for a first-time offender. Only first timers are eligible for this type of permit. The penalty for refusal to submit to a breath blood or urine test is one-year. Again only first-timers are eligible here. The reinstatement of a driver's license on a restricted basis is conditioned on statutory eligibility requirements including completion of the DUI school. When a driver proceeds under this provision of the Florida Statutes, they are accepting the reinstated driver's license under 322.271, but it is considered a waiver of any right to a formal or informal review under Florida statute 322.2615. This results in a permanent entry on the driving record of this alcohol related incident. This is an important decision and an Attorney may help choose the best course.


Florida DHSMV Request for Eligibility Review Form

Hire Casey at (813) 222-2220 and rest easy knowing that Casey has been here before and knows how to convince opponents and jurors to do the right thing.